Recording Webex Presentations and Editing Them in Camtasia Studio 7

There is a much easier way to record and edit Webex presentations than what I previously posted in How to Record, Edit, and Distribute WebEx Meeting Recordings.

Just record the meeting during the Webex session, then play back the Webex recording while recording it with Camtasia Studio 7.  Then you can edit it, add a title page, table of contents, etc.

I had tried other ways to do this, including Webex’s recording editor, Captivate, and even Jing.  I was not able to capture the audio from my Webex recordings (arf) with Captivate 5, even though I followed the instructions in Captivate’s startup message and ran Captivate as the Administrator, then set the audio input device as Stereo Mix.  I tried this with Jing 2.4 and couldn’t get the audio either, even though I set it to Stereo Mix.

I was able to capture the audio and video with Camtasia Studio 7 without a problem.

Here are the steps:

    1. Record the meeting during the Webex session.2. Download the recording from Webex.  (You don’t have to convert the arf file).
    2. In Windows 7, right click the sound icon on the taskbar and select Recording Devices.  Make Stereo Mix the default.Note:  If you don’t see Recording Devices, go to Start > Control Panel > Sound and select the Recording tab.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Then in Camtasia, select Record System Audio from the Recorded Inputs dialog (this automatically opens when you start a recording).

4. Play back the Webex recording while recording it with Camtasia Studio 7.

5. After you record the Webex recording in Camtasia, you can add markers to create a table of contents.  (See http://www.techsmith.com/learn/camtasia/7/use-markers-to-create-toc/).

Camtasia is $299 and well worth it, in my opinion.

10 Responses to Recording Webex Presentations and Editing Them in Camtasia Studio 7

  1. John says:

    Hi Gina — Thanks very much for posting this. My team has been racking our brains for a few days now trying to take two days worth of Webex recordings and export them to edit in Camtasia. Seeing your experience probably saved us another day or two! Thanks very much — John

    • You’re welcome! We still doing it this way. Hopefully the people at Webex will make their recordings more compatible with other editors — and get away from the arf format.

      Gina

  2. Jeremy says:

    Hi Gina,
    Do you know if you can then upload your edited recordings back to Webex?
    Thanks – Jeremy

    • Jeremy,
      I’ve never tried to upload the recordings back to Webex that I made with Camtasia. There’s a way to attach files for meetings, though. I’m not sure what the file size restrictions are.
      Gina

  3. Ratnesh says:

    What if i only want audio of my webex meeting – in mp3.
    One option is to convert arf files like above and then extract the audio – but that us too much conversion and time consuming.
    Is there a direct way to record (live) both the presenter’s audio (mine) as well participants audio (which i hear).
    When i use mic setting in my laptop – i am only able to record my voice – it does not record participants incoming voice.
    When i use stereo mix setting in my laptop – i am only able to record the participants voice – it does not record my voice.
    Can i record both?

  4. Erin Olsen says:

    I tried this but for some reason when i right click on the audio icon, I don’t see Stereo Mix as an option. I only see “internal microphone”. Any suggestions? Thanks!!

    “In Windows 7, right click the sound icon on the taskbar and select Recording Devices. Make Stereo Mix the default.

    • Erin,
      I just updated the post with screenshots. If you don’t see Recording devices from the Sounds in your Control Panel, I don’t know what you should do. I hope it works for you.
      Gina

  5. wwords says:

    Awesome. Thanks for this post. I tried using the WebEx player (now called the “Network Recording Player” I guess?) to convert directly to MP4 (I guess MP4 is a new option) but when I played it back it 1)crashed the Quicktime player 2) only played audio in VideoLAN and 3) wouldn’t play video when inserted into Camtasia 8. So I opted for your method and it worked well. It took me a while to get the player sized to 1024×768 since it doesn’t have an “actual size” option, but I’m probably just OCD about that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

