Transcribing Webex Recordings

I’m looking for an easier way to transcribe Webex recordings than playing them in the Webex Network Recording Player (version 2.5.1).  It’s really difficult to pause and start using the timeline and a mouse, in addition to using a dual monitor — one with Word 2007 and one with the Webex player.  It took me almost all day to transcribe a recording that was a little over an hour long.  I want to transcribe this myself, and I’m already aware of all of the transcription companies that can do this.  (I heard a rumor that it’s $1/word and I just finished transcribing 7,000 words!)

I’m looking into transcription software and foot pedals, specifically Express Scribe Transcription Playback Software.  I haven’t downloaded it yet, but it’s free.  The foot pedals are from AltoEdge and average under US$100.

You can download the WebEx Network Recording Player to record the Webex meetings, then use it to convert the file to .wav, .swf, or .mp4.  Express Scribe supports .wav and .mp4 among other formats (but not .swf).

So if anyone out there has personal experience transcribing Webex recordings and has suggestions, please let me know.

Thanks!

Gina

4 Responses to Transcribing Webex Recordings

  1. Cindi says:

    A company just hired me to transcribe 30 audio files for them and they used Webex. I use Express Scribe. I don’t have access to the actual download file, I have to access it through Webex. I won’t be able to do the project if they can’t get it off Webex and into files I can transcribe.

    Did you find a solution to this problem? I don’t understand why companies who know they will need files transcribed, use programs that are not user-friendly.

    By the way, I love Express Scribe. I wouldn’t use anything else!

  2. Jen says:

    WebEx has a transcribe feature. Call or visit the WebEx website!

  3. Jen says:

    Did you ever figure this out?? I’m trying to do the same thing myself!

  4. No, I haven’t figured it out. I had some funny results with Camtasia 7. See my post on Camtasia Studio 7.1 Speech-to-Text Captions and Webex Recordings on my new blog at http://www.ifcatscouldwrite.com.
    Thanks.
    Gina

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

